

The Daily Bulletin: 2021-11-01

PUBLIC/HOUSE BILLS

H 977 (2021) CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING PLAN 2021/CST-13. Filed Nov 1 2021, AN ACT TO REALIGN THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOLLOWING THE RETURN OF THE 2020 FEDERAL DECENNIAL CENSUS.

Amends GS 163-201 to divide North Carolina into 14 congressional districts to nominate and elect members of the U.S. House of Representatives in 2022 and every two years thereafter, as follows. District 1 includes the following counties: Beaufort County, Camden County, Carteret County, Chowan County, Craven County, Currituck County, Dare County, Gates County, Hyde County, Jones County, Lenoir County, Onslow County (portions listed), Pamlico County, Pasquotank County, Perquimans County, Pitt County (portions listed), Tyrrell County, District 2 includes the following counties: Bertie County, Caswell County, Edgecombe County, Franklin County, Granville County, Greene County, Halifax County, Hertford County, Martin County, Nash County, Northampton County, Person County, Pitt County (portions listed), Vance County, Warren County, Washington County, Wayne County (portions listed), Wilson County. District 3 includes the following counties: Bladen County, Brunswick County, Columbus County, Duplin County, New Hanover County, Onslow County (portions listed), Pender County, Robeson County (portions listed). District 4 includes the following counties: Cumberland County, Harnett County (portions listed), Johnston County, Sampson County, Wayne County (portions listed). District 5 includes listed portions of Wake County. District 6 includes the following counties: Durham County, Orange County, Wake County (portions listed). District 7 includes the following counties: Alamance County, Chatham County, Davidson County (portions listed), Guilford County (portions listed), Harnett County (portions listed), Lee County, Randolph County, Wake County (portions listed). District 8 includes the following counties: Anson County, Hoke County, Mecklenburg County (portions listed), Montgomery County, Moore County, Richmond County, Robeson County (portions listed), Scotland County, Stanly County, Union County. District 9 includes listed portions of Mecklenburg County. District 10 includes the following counties: Cabarrus County, Davidson County (portions listed), Davie County, Guilford County (portions listed), Iredell County (portions listed), Rowan County. District 11 includes the following counties: Alexander County, Alleghany County, Ashe County, Caldwell County, Guilford County (portions listed), Rockingham County, Stokes County, Surry County, Watauga County (portions listed), Wilkes County. District 12 includes the following counties: Catawba County, Forsyth County, Iredell County (portions listed), Lincoln County, Yadkin County. District 13 includes the following counties: Burke County, Cleveland County, Gaston County, McDowell County, Mecklenburg County (portions listed), Polk County, Rutherford County. District 14 includes the following counties: Avery County, Buncombe County, Cherokee County, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County, Henderson County, Jackson County, Macon County, Madison County, Mitchell County, Swain County, Transylvania County, Watauga County (portions listed), Yancey County. Applies to elections held on or after January 1, 2022.

Intro. by D. Hall.

GS 163

View summary

Government, Elections, General Assembly

ACTIONS ON BILLS

PUBLIC BILLS

H 814: NEIGHBORHOOD OCCUPANTLESS VEHICLE.

Senate: Reptd Fav

H 976: HOUSE REDISTRICTING PLAN 2021.

House: Serial Referral To Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House Stricken

H 977: CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING PLAN 2021/CST-13.

House: Filed House: Passed 1st Reading House: Ref To Com On Redistricting

S 66: REGULATE USE OF DEER SECRETIONS FOR HUNTING.

Senate: Withdrawn From Com Senate: Placed On Cal For 11/02/2021

S 270: INSURANCE TECHNICAL CHANGES.

Senate: Withdrawn From Com Senate: Placed On Cal For 11/02/2021

S 308: VARIOUS BUILDING CODE AMEND. (NEW)

Senate: Withdrawn From Com Senate: Placed On Cal For 11/02/2021

S 737: CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING PLAN 2021 - CCH-6.

Senate: Reptd Unfav

S 739: SENATE REDISTRICTING PLAN 2021 - SST-13.

Senate: Passed 1st Reading Senate: Ref To Com On Redistricting and Elections

S 740: CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING PLAN 2021/CST-13.

Senate: Passed 1st Reading Senate: Ref To Com On Redistricting and Elections Senate: Reptd Fav

No local actions on bills

© 2021 School of Government The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

This work is copyrighted and subject to "fair use" as permitted by federal copyright law. No portion of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without the express written permission of the publisher. Distribution by third parties is prohibited. Prohibited distribution includes, but is not limited to, posting, e-mailing, faxing, archiving in a public database, installing on intranets or servers, and redistributing via a computer network or in printed form. Unauthorized use or reproduction may result in legal action against the unauthorized user.

Print Version